Sometimes I wonder if I'm ever being too "moody," or too dramatic. I find that often, these words are problematic as they are often employed to delegitimize and invalidate peoples' experiences and feelings (and it's used in a very gendered way). However, it's hard not to second guess myself and feel like it's okay to not be able to "handle things," and that it is real and a legitimate way of feeling. I'm just trying to balance a self-defeatist attitude with allowing myself to be okay with my limitations. It's just something that I'm not good at doing.
I feel like I'm doing much better than I was a few days ago. Things are starting to fall into place (or, at least I feel more emotionally capable of handling them). I scored free tickets to New York for early February, I've been having good conversations with my partner (having a partner is weird, foreign, sometimes awkward, but at the same time very rewarding for me.... I'm still trying to figure out how these "relationship" type things are supposed to work), I've received positive feedback from my advisor (which makes me feel more confident about finishing my project), I only have exams left to mark, and I have a potential job in February (which is only ten weeks, so it will still mean that I can move to Montreal, even if it's a little later than I had originally planned- it'll give me more of a cushion to have rent lined up for a bit, as well as money to go on tour -maybe- in the summer?) So, when I break things down, it doesn't seem that bad at all.
I've also been cooking up a storm and making the tastiest of comfort foods. This morning I made fries and gravy, and yesterday evening, I made breaded eggplant. I'll probably have to get the holiday sweat pants out, but that's alright. It's that time of year.
Anyway, I should stop distracting myself with kitties, Teen Mom, and now blogging. On with the first year exams!
No comments:
Post a Comment